Outlier
Scale AI-operated contributor platform that connects freelance experts with projects involving AI training and human feedback.
Quick facts
| Fact | Detail |
|---|---|
| Category | AI Training & Data Labeling |
| Platform type | Expert AI training contributor platform |
| Website | outlier.ai |
| Pay unit | Per task |
| Typical rate | General projects ~$15–40/hr; specialist domains higher |
| Payout methods | PayPal, Airtm, ACH bank transfer |
| Payout cadence | Weekly |
| Minimum payout | Not published |
| Minimum age | 18 |
| Countries | 15 tracked — Global; not specified in detail |
| Languages | en |
| Equipment | Computer, Stable internet |
| Experience needed | Intermediate to advanced |
| Identity verification | Government-issued ID + selfie via third-party verification (Persona) for specialized projects |
| Last verified | 2026-09-06 |
In one paragraph
Outlier pays for prompt evaluation — billed per task, paid via PayPal and Airtm. Typical pay: general projects ~$15–40/hr; specialist domains higher. Available: widely available. Minimum age 18.
Visit OutlierPros & cons — facts only
Pros
- Pays via PayPal.
- Payout cadence: Weekly.
- Available in 15 tracked countries.
- Publishes rate guidance: general projects ~$15–40/hr; specialist domains higher.
Cons
- Minimum payout not published — verify before your first cash-out.
- Entry gated by qualification/identity checks.
- Expert-tier expectations: rejections cost unpaid time.
How to join Outlier
- Sign up
- expertise selection
- skill screening
- identity verification (for specialized projects)
- project qualification
- start working
Signup involves: Sign up · Skills assessment · Identity verification · Project qualification
Pay & payouts
- Typical rate: General projects ~$15–40/hr; specialist domains higher
- Billed per: Per task
- Payout methods: PayPal, Airtm, ACH bank transfer
- Payout cadence: Weekly
- Minimum payout: Not published
Requirements
- Minimum age
- 18
- Languages
- English
- Identity verification
- Government-issued ID + selfie via third-party verification (Persona) for specialized projects
- Skills
- At least associate degree for general projects; bachelor/Master/PhD for specialized projects in coding, engineering, finance, law, linguistics, medicine
- Equipment
- Computer with stable internet; no specific device requirements
Where it's available
Global; not specified in detail
Restrictions: Not specified
- Australia
- Brazil
- Canada
- Germany
- Egypt
- France
- United Kingdom
- India
- Mexico
- New Zealand
- Philippines
- Pakistan
- United States
- Vietnam
- South Africa
What kind of work
- Prompt evaluation
- Generation
- AI response evaluation
- Evaluation
- AI evaluation
- Safety and preference ranking
AI-training task types
- Prompt evaluation
- AI response evaluation
- Safety and preference ranking
- Code quality review
- Domain expert review
Outlier FAQ
Is Outlier legit?
Yes — Outlier is a real, operating platform. We verified its signup, payout, and policy pages directly on 2026-09-06 using 6 sources.
How much does Outlier pay?
General projects ~$15–40/hr; specialist domains higher. Work is billed per task, so earnings scale with volume and acceptance rates.
How does Outlier pay out?
Via PayPal, Airtm, ACH bank transfer. Payout cadence: Weekly. Minimum payout: Not published.
Who can join Outlier?
Minimum age 18. Global; not specified in detail Government-issued ID + selfie via third-party verification (Persona) for specialized projects
How do I sign up for Outlier?
Sign up → expertise selection → skill screening → identity verification (for specialized projects) → project qualification → start working
What skills does Outlier require?
At least associate degree for general projects; bachelor/Master/PhD for specialized projects in coding, engineering, finance, law, linguistics, medicine
Sources & verification
Facts on this page were verified against 6 sources. Last full check: .
- app.outlier.ai officialchecked
- app.outlier.ai officialchecked
- outlier.ai officialchecked
- outlier.ai officialchecked
- outlier.ai officialchecked